Parenting through Separation

Practical advice to help you help your children.

We know that separation of parents is difficult for children, and it is common for families to need extra support to help children feel loved, heard, and understood during the process.

This free Parenting Through Separation programme is focused on providing practical advice and information to keep things as stress-free as possible for your children.

We’ll help you work out what parenting arrangements will work if or when you separate. You will discover what’s best for your children when you live apart, learn tips for how to communicate effectively and develop tools for parenting through this experience.

Sign up now

Our free Parenting through Separation course can help you at this difficult time.

The programme includes:

Resources & support for developing parenting skills specific to separation.
Strategies for guiding your children through this transition period.
Practical ideas on managing parenting arrangements.
Information on child development & behaviour through separation.
Opportunities to share & connect with other families.
How to maintain communication & achieve long-term results.

About the programme

Developed by professionals who specialise in helping families through separation, Parenting through Separation is a fully-funded information programme delivered by experienced facilitators from Family Works and Community Law.

Each programme is made up of two sessions lasting approximately two hours and is run in a small group setting.

During the sessions you can choose to say as much or as little as you like about your individual situation. However, you can rest assured our experienced programme facilitators make sure each session is welcoming, relaxed, supportive and informative.

You can attend Parenting through Separation even if you are just thinking of separating, or if you have been separated for some time. The best time is now; the sooner you complete the programme the better it will be for your children.

It’s also good if both parents/carers attend Parenting through Separation, however we strongly recommend you attend separate sessions. Let us know when you register if you have a different family name from your ex-partner, so we can make sure you are not both at the same session.

PTS courses are run in the Wellington-Wairarapa and Taranaki Regions. If you aren’t in these areas, follow this link to find a provider near you.

Upcoming PTS Programmes

At Family Works, we have free Parenting through Separation programmes running at a range of times and locations to suit you.

The scheduled upcoming courses are listed below. However, if these times don’t suit you feel free to call us on 0800 326 9675 to discuss an alternative.

Please note: all courses are subject to change. We recommend checking back here or giving us a call before you attend.

Wellington:
Saturday, 26 June, 9:30 am – 2:00 pm
Saturday 31st July 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 28th August 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 11th September 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 16th October 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 13th November 9.30am-2.00pm

Upper Hutt:
Saturday, 19 June, 9:30 am – 2:00 pm
Saturday 17th July 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesdays 28th July & 4th August 6.00-8.00pm
Saturday 21st August 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 4th September 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 9th October 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesdays November 3rd & 10th 6.00-8.00pm
Saturday 6th November 9.30am-2.00pm
Saturday 4th December 9.30am-2.00pm

Masterton:
Wednesday 14th July 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesday 18th August 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesday 13th October 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesday 10th November 9.30am-2.00pm
Wednesday 8th December 9.30am-2.00pm

New Plymouth:
Saturday, 19 June, 9:00 am – 1:30 pm

Kapiti:
Thursday 15th July 9.30am-2.00pm
Thursday 12th August 9.30am-2.00pm
Thursday 16th September 9.30am-2.00pm
Thursday 21st October 9.30am-2.00pm
Thursday 11th November 9.30am-2.00pm